Advice to prepare your CV and covering letter for Austria

Please post here if you are looking for work
Tatt
Site Admin
Site Admin

Advice to prepare your CV and covering letter for Austria

Post by Tatt »

Hello,

I would like to provide a few suggestions I have observed on how to prepare your CV (resume) and covering letter for Austria. Most of my suggestions are actually good practice in my book, and only a few caveats are truly Austrian.

I have been a hiring manager in the past, and I occasionally consulted on prospective CV's (and candidates). Hopefully I can hopefully provide a useful perspective.

General starting points
  • The only requirement of a CV is to interest someone enough to read the covering letter
  • The only requirement of a covering letter is to make someone want to meet you in person
With this in mind your CV should be a paragon of hard facts; objective, experience, achievements, talents and interests. Your covering letter can be a more personal, but formal, introduction to your professional and academic history with direct reference to the position you are applying for. It should be rewritten for each application.

CV / Resume
Your CV is speed dating; it has 5 seconds to impress that you are worth reading and if it doesn't match the high standards of the competition it will not get a call back.

Formatting is paramount. First impressions count.
  • when formatting make sure that each text section is proportional to the last, and to the document as a whole. Print it out, pin it on a white wall and slowly walk up to it - from about two meters away to reading distance - you'll see if it looks good or if there are flaws
  • get a good head-and-shoulders professional portrait picture taken. Wear a suit, do your hair and when you feel good about your look go to one of the studio's around town - it costs about €15-€30 depending on options and format - you should have a small passport sized photo at the top of the page, next to or under your name.